Finding an experienced Rhode Island DUI lawyer should be your first priority when facing DUI charges. It is imperative to secure legal counsel who is familiar with the laws and statutes of your particular state. Although DUI laws hold many similarities across the nation some states have differentiating factors in the definitions and penalties assigned to DUI offenses. Each individual state determines the severity of the punishment issued. In some states first time offenders face serious criminal penalties while in others a first time offender may only receive a civil infraction.
Rhode Island DUI Laws
(2) Whoever drives or otherwise operates any vehicle in the state with a blood presence of any scheduled controlled substance as defined within chapter 28 of title 21, as shown by analysis of a blood or urine sample, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished as provided in subsection (d) of this section.
The structure of penalties and treatments also varies from state to state. For example some states require ignition interlock devices and vehicle confiscation. In many states a mandatory alcohol assessment and educational class is mandatory as a means of treatment and future prevention. Most states have administrative license suspensions or revocations as administrative penalties for DUI infractions. For example in the state of Alabama under a first time offense your license can be suspended or revoked for up to 90 days. In the state of Georgia your license could be suspended for up to one year as a first-time DUI offender. In the state of Rhode Island you may receive the maximum administrative penalty of 45 days for your first offense, 1 year for a second offense and 2 years for a third offense. Upon your third offense it is possible to have your vehicle confiscated. Ignition Interlock devices are also a common part of Rhode Island DUI Law. Don’t let one bad decision ruin your life. DUI convictions can ruin your reputation and opportunities for your future. Never leave your future to chance. If you’re facing DUI charges call (401) 861-1155 to discuss your options.