Drunk driving consequences in Rhode Island are severe as a result of the tremendous potential of harm that can be done. Being charged with a drunk driving offense has the ability to significantly impact your life and your future in a major way. The drunk driving laws of Rhode Island are clear cut and to the point and so are the drunk driving consequences. In my line of practice, I’ve come across all types of drunk driving cases and fought tirelessly to represent the best interest of my clients. Most people don’t understand the significance of a drunk driving conviction. Even more individuals have no clue what to do or what not to do when they’re pulled over by an officer for suspicions of drunk driving. Watch my easy to follow videos for DUI advice.
What are the Consequences of Drunk Driving in Rhode Island?
By the time most people ask themselves this question it’s already to late. The best advice I have to give is for you to be prepared. Familiarize yourself with the laws and penalties of driving while under the influence in your particular state. In the state of Rhode Island the DUI penalties are stern and stringently enforced.
Drunk Driving Consequences for Drivers Over 21
The drunk driving consequences vary from level to level based on the age, BAC, and related injuries or fatalities caused by the offense. If you are a first time DUI offender and your blood alcohol level was noted as .08-.10 percent you can face a fine of up to three hundred dollars and have your license suspended for up to six months. You can also face a jail sentence of no more than one year. First time offenders may also face a $500 HSA fee and the requirement to complete a driving class or mandatory participation in an alcohol rehab program.
More serious drunk driving consequences are assigned to offenders with multiple offenses. A third time offender with a BAC of .08-.15% will be charged as a felony and sentenced to 1-3 years in jail. This level of offense is assigned the minimum of two years of a suspended license, mandatory alcohol treatment program and a two-year order for an interlock ignition device.
If an individual has three offenses and a BAC higher than .15% they can face a maximum fine of $5,000.00 and up to 5 years of jail time. Under these circumstances the offender faces the drunk driving consequences of a judge seizing and selling their vehicle.
Drunk driving consequences are no joking matter and neither are the unfortunate effects they may cause on others. If you’ve been charged with a DUI violation do not take it lightly and do not leave your freedom to chance. Call me for the best DUI Defense in the state of Rhode Island. I’ll put my experience to work for you.